Congratulations, Leadership Jackson County Class of 2018!

Leadership Jackson County’s classes are once a month for nine months, but the impact lasts a lifetime.  For 28 years the Jackson County Chamber of Commerce and Ocean Springs Chamber of Commerce-Main Street-Tourism Bureau have sponsored Leadership Jackson County.  Together with an expansive network of distinguished alumni, Leadership Jackson County continues a proud tradition of connecting and inspiring leaders to strengthen Jackson County.  Sessions focus on fundamental leadership principles, community awareness and leadership skill building.  Since 1989, Leadership Jackson County has graduated over 747 community leaders.


This year’s graduates include:



Byron Keith Allred

Hancock Whitney Bank

Shannon Marie Barlow

Singing River Health System

Jeremy Douglas Bell

Jackson County Emergency Management

Christopher Patrick Brown

Ingalls Shipbuilding

Elizabeth Ann Chapuis


Audrey Susan Chennault

First Chemical Corporation

Valerie Rose Damazio

Jackson County Circuit Clerk

Katie Clark Davis

First Federal Savings & Loan

Dr. Melissa M. DeAngelo

Pascagoula-Gautier School District

Valerie Dedeaux

Jackson County Chamber of Commerce

James Michael Douglas

Compton Engineering, Inc.

Frank Allen Duke

Jackson County Fire District

William Hall Everitt

Mississippi Gulf Coast Community College

Captain Kevin William Finn

City of Gautier – Fire Department

Nichole Noel Ford

Merchants & Marine Bank

Nicholas Lanier Gant

Brown, Mitchell & Alexander, Inc.

Shelby Gutherz Geboy

First Federal Savings & Loan

Darcie Jean Graham

USM – Gulf Coast Research Laboratory

April Marie Havens Stennett

City of Gautier

Richard Stephen Hilsabeck

Regions Bank

Rachel Elizabeth Hinkel

Merchants & Marine Bank

Kleon Irving

Ingalls Shipbuilding

Sheila Humphrey Kowalewski

Ingalls Shipbuilding

Mayor Dane Maxwell

City of Pascagoula

Kevin J. Miller

The First – A National Banking Association

Lindsay Jeanine Adkisson Mitchell

Ocean Springs Chamber of Commerce-Main Street-Tourism Bureau

Tamara Susan Moore

Hilton Garden Inn Pascagoula

Christy Marie Myers

Singing River Health System

Destin Patrick O’Brien

Mississippi Power

Sean O’Grady


Ronda Jane Powell

Jackson County Board of Supervisors

Billie Elaine Rogers

Charter Bank

Jodi Tate Ryder

Mississippi Gulf Coast YMCA

Tommy Aaron Sessum


Dale Shirley


Christopher Gerard Skrmetti


Tom Story

Jackson County Chancery Clerk

Maegan Velasquez

Singing River Health System

Ja’Leasa Nicole Walden

Moss Point School District

Boyd Fatherree West

Pascagoula-Gautier School District

Sheryl Melton Wolfe

Merchants & Marine Bank



The graduation ceremony will be held on October 11th at Gulf Hills Hotel and Conference Center in Ocean Springs.  At the ceremony, the Keynote Speaker will be Tommy Murphy, Coast Division Manager of Mississippi Power.


Tommy Murphy is the coast division manager for Mississippi Power. In this role he oversees company operations, customer service, and community and governmental relations for seven coastal counties.


Since joining Southern Company in 1985, Murphy has held a variety of management positions of increasing responsibility, including chief information officer for Mississippi Power and Gulf Power and technical field operations manager for Mississippi Power and Alabama Power. He has also served for Mississippi Power as employee relations manager, senior project manager and national recruiter for economic development. Prior to being named coast division manager, Murphy served as community development director where he led corporate workforce and education efforts, community engagement and volunteerism and local governmental relations.


A recognized business and community leader, Murphy was named one of South Mississippi’s Outstanding Community Leaders. He has held numerous community leadership roles, including Gulf Coast Chamber president, Hancock County Chamber president, MS Economic Council Public Education Forum board, NASA Partners for Stennis board, loaned executive for United Way, President of the Mississippi Gulf Coast Technology Council, external advisory board for the University of Southern Mississippi, Leadership Gulf Coast, and event chair for the American Cancer Society Relay for Life of Harrison County.


Murphy graduated with honors from the University of Southern Mississippi and is a graduate of the management program from the Georgia Institute of Technology.


A native of the Mississippi Gulf Coast, Tommy Murphy and his wife, Kristi, are the parents of son, Brent, and daughter, Shannon.



Pictured: Tommy Murphy, Coast Division Manager of Mississippi Power.



Upon completion of this program, participants are eligible for membership in the organization’s Leadership Jackson County Alumni Network.  Those wishing to be added to this list can contact the Jackson County Chamber of Commerce.


If interested in participating in the Leadership Jackson County Class of 2019, contact the Jackson County Chamber of Commerce at 228-762-3391 or visit  More information can be found by emailing Linda Johnson at  Nominations for Leadership Jackson County Class of 2019 are now being accepted.  Click here for the 2019 Leadership Jackson County Application.

Comments are closed.

Copyright Jackson County Chamber of Commerce

Designed by Ad.In Advertising