91st Annual Chamber Membership Meeting

(Pictured: Chairman of the Board of Directors for the Jackson County Chamber of Commerce, 2018-2019, Cedrick Hurd, Coast Division East Area Manager at Mississippi Power)


The Jackson County Chamber of Commerce hosted its 91st Annual Chamber Membership Meeting on October 9, 2018, with new leadership and many announcements.  The event took place at Hilton Garden Inn Pascagoula where over 300 members met together, enjoyed lunch and learned about the latest news with the Chamber.  Amy Brandenstein, past Chairman of the Board (2017-2018) with Chevron, passed the gavel to the 2018-2019 Chairman of the Board, Cedrick Hurd, Coast Division East Area Manager at Mississippi Power.


This year’s Presenting Sponsors were Bacot/McCarty Foundation; Chevron; Ingalls Shipbuilding; Jackson County Board of Supervisors; Merchants & Marine Bank; Mississippi Power; Omega Protein, Inc.; Southern Mississippi Planning & Development District; and The Mississippi Press/GulfLive.com.  To learn more about sponsorship opportunities throughout the year, contact Linda Johnson, Operations, at JohnsonL@jcchamber.com.


Amy Brandenstein announced the 2018 Small Business Grant recipients.  There were five companies presented with one hundred percent, corporate privately funded grants valued at $2,500 per business, benefitting the sustainability of their business.  This year’s recipients were:  Baz Family Medical Clinic, Brackish Waters, FABLAB Jackson County, Jackson Avenue Auto Sales and Old School Learning Depot. Grants through the Chamber are available throughout the year to increase revenue for development and expansion of small businesses through investing in sustainable marketing which includes marketing materials (including websites), storefront and/or customer area improvements, display for merchandise and other ways that can grow businesses.

Awards were presented at this annual meeting as well.  Yvette Barr, Director of Membership Communications for the Chamber, along with Renee Pettis of Compton Engineering, Inc., and Chamber Ambassador Chairman, presented the Ambassador of the Year award.  This goes to an Ambassador volunteer who has exuded the qualities of being the public relations arm of the Chamber and donating their times and talents to benefit the membership. This year’s Ambassador of the Year was Tammy Moore, Hilton Garden Inn in Pascagoula’s Director of Sales and Marketing.

Carla Todd Voda and Evelyn McCarty presented the Jolly P. McCarty Award of Excellence in Leadership, which goes to someone who has been dedicated to the Chamber and has used their strength in leadership to move forward the Chamber, its membership and the community.  This year’s Jolly P. McCarty Award of Excellence in Leadership recipient was Walter Moore, Navigator Credit Union (Retired).

The Annual Chamber Membership Meeting followed the 2018-2019 Annual Chamber Leaders Retreat at Gulf Hills Hotel & Conference Center in Ocean Springs.  A special “thank you” goes to this year’s Retreat sponsors: Chevron; Enhanced Environmental & Emergency Services; Goodgames’, Incorporated; Gulf Hills Hotel & Conference Center; Hancock Whitney Bank; Ingalls Shipbuilding; Jackson County Board of Supervisors; Jackson County Utility Authority; Mississippi Power; and The Mississippi Press/GulfLive.com.

This continuation of leadership with the theme of “Connecting Communities through Innovation” will be led by Chairman Hurd and Carla Todd Voda, President and CEO, IOM.  Together with the Executive Committee and full Chamber Board of Directors, Issue Manager Group chairmen, Issue Manager Group volunteers and membership, the Chamber will further support the community.  A full 2018-2019 Program of Work is available to the public.  Together the community is encouraged to join the Chamber and support the Chamber’s Mission: “Supporting commerce and promoting growth to enhance the quality of life in Jackson County.”  For more information, call the Chamber at 228-762-3391 or email Ling Burch, Director of Membership, at Membership@jcchamber.com.

Comments are closed.

Copyright Jackson County Chamber of Commerce

Designed by Ad.In Advertising