Anchor Awards Finalists Announced


The 12th Annual Anchor Awards Finalists have been chosen through a public online voting process. There were nearly two dozen businesses nominated for four different awards. The Grit Award for non-profits, the Thrive I Award for businesses with up to 50 employees, the Thrive II Award for businesses with 51-200 employees, and the Pioneer Award for businesses in operation between one and three years. Each award was narrowed down to three finalists after hundreds of votes poured in on social media.

New to this year’s awards will be two additional honors. One will be the President’s Award, chosen by our President and CEO Paige Roberts for outstanding support in the community. The other is the Champion Award, that will go to a business nominated by the public and judged by a panel of qualified professionals. The Champion Award received more than 150 nominations. Those nominations were narrowed down to three finalists by a panel of judges. They judged the finalists on criteria including pandemic relevance, effort above and beyond usual business practices, and community impact.

Each of the other awards were judged by a separate panel of judges on criteria that includes keys to success, impact and involvement, human resources, and reasons for applying.

Due to COVID-19 restrictions, attendance at this year’s awards ceremony will be limited to finalists and their supporters. The ceremony will be streamed on Facebook LIVE on August 26th.

We want to give a big thanks to our sponsors for this year’s Anchor Awards. Gold sponsors are Chevron, Navigator Credit Union, Merchants and Marine Bank, Mississippi Power, Jackson County Board of Supervisors, and Ingalls Shipbuilding. Silver sponsors are Mississippi Security Police, and Geiger Promotional Products. The finalists are listed below.

CONGRATULATIONS to our 12TH Annual Anchor Awards Finalists!

GRIT AWARD (non-profit)

  • FabLab Jackson County
  • Habitat For Humanity of the Mississippi Gulf Coast
  • Junior Auxiliary of Pascagoula-Moss Point, MS</li>

PIONEER AWARD (in business 1-3 years)

  • Amerson One Stop Pest Shop
  • CK Creations LLC
  • Pascagoula Nutrition

THRIVE I AWARD (up to 50 employees)

  • Dixie Glass MS Gulf Coast
  • Gibson Electric Motor Sales &amp; Service, Inc.
  • Pugh’s Floral Shop

THRIVE II AWARD (51-200 employees)

  • Bozo’s Too
  • First Federal Savings &amp; Loan Association of Pascagoula-Moss Point
  • Gulf Breeze Landscaping, LLC

CHAMPION AWARD (Outstanding performance during the pandemic)

  • FabLab Jackson County
  • Just For You Embroidery
  • Navigator Credit Union

Tune in to our Facebook LIVE on August 26th for the awards ceremony!